10 Questions for Travis Joshua

The Circle of Joy is excited to have a few new members who have joined their circle this spring. Among them is Travis Joshua, the first male in the Atlanta-based giving circle. Here are Travis’ answers to questions about inspiration, reading, giving and advice:

Travis Joshua, of the Circle of Joy.

1. Where do you get your inspiration from?
I draw my inspiration from the Bible. Specifically, Galatians 1:10, which talks about winning the approval of men or of God. As a servant of God, it  is his approval alone that matters to me.

2. When did you join your giving circle? Why?
I was first introduced  to the giving circle some 3 years ago, but did not officially join until the beginning of 2012. I attended the Circle of Joy grant giving event at the beginning of the year. I was so impressed with the work the circle had done to be of assistance to meaningful organizations that were really making an impact. When the circle members were introduced, I realized that there were no males. I thought that I could possibly make a significant impact and bring a different perspective. 

3. What impact has being in your circle had on you?
The greatest impact has been the opportunity to make meaningful financial contributions to those in need in conjunction with the giving I already make through my church.

4. How has being in your circle altered your views about your community?
Specifically,I have become more aware of smaller organizations that are doing a great work with limited financial resources because they do not receive the support that larger organizations  receive.

5. Where did you grow up, and in what years?
I grew up in Pasadena, CA during the 80’s and early 90’s.

6. What was your favorite subject in elementary school?
My favorite subject in school was always English, followed by History.

7. What books are you currently reading?
I recently finished reading Through My Eyes by Tim Tebow and I am currently reading a devotional by Rick Warren on building faith.

8. What websites do you visit frequently?
ESPN followed by Yahoo.

9. If there was one major issue that you could address, given that funding would not be a concern, what would it be?
The number of orphans left behind due to the HIV/AIDS epidemic in Africa and other countries.

10. What advice can you give to the next generation of philanthropists?
Luke 6:38:

Give, and it shall be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you give, it will be measured to you.

***
Travis, welcome to the Community Investment Network. We look forward to seeing you at our annual conference, the Philanthropic Renaissance in Birmingham.

About CJ

Writer. Humanitarian on the long slog to freedom. Baker with many a sweet teeth. Outdoorsman who is a kid at heart.
This entry was posted in Member Profiles and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

